Menu +

Search Posts

Massage therapy CE Overview

Alabama
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs
12 hrs must be hands-on
NCBTMB approved courses only
Alaska
Title: Massage Therapist
Grandfathering: Until July 1, 2017.
Eligible with proof that performed massage therapy prior to July 1, 2015, background check, CPR.

Arizona
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs
Max 12 hrs online
       NCBTMB approved courses only
Arkansas
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist, Master Massage Therapist, Instructor
Renewal: 18hrs/2yrs
Max 6 hrs online CE
NCBTMB approved courses only

California
Title: Certified Massage Therapist
Renewal: no CEU req/2yrs
Colorado
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Renewal: no CEU req/2yrs

Connecticut
Renewal: 24hrs/4yrs
Max 6 hrs online
Max 12 hrs non-NCBTMB approved

Delaware
   License Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs
18 hrs core/6 hrs elective
   Certification Renewal: 12hrs/2yrs
9 hrs core/3 hrs elective
50% of core (MT related) can be online
100% of elective (non-MT related) can be online
NCBTMB approved courses only

Florida
Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs
Minimum 12 hrs hands-on MT techniques
Minimum 2 hrs in each subject: medical error prevention, Florida law, and ethics
       NCBTMB approved courses only
Georgia
Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs
12 hrs must be hands-on
NCBTMB approved courses only

Hawaii
Renewal: no CEU req/2yrs
Idaho
Renewal: 6 hours/1 year starting after first renewal
       NCBTMB approved courses only
Illinois
Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs
Max 12 hrs online
2 hrs ethics
        NCBTMB approved courses only
Indiana
NO CE required for renewal of license
Iowa
Renewal: 16 hours/2yrs
Min 8 hrs hands-on
Kansas
No State regulation.
Kentucky
Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs
3 hrs ethics
       NCBTMB approved courses only
Louisiana
500 hrs and MBLEx or NCETMB
Renewal: 12hrs/1yr
Maine
Renewal: no CEU req./1yr
Maryland
Renewal: 24 hrs/2yrs
3 hrs ethics
3 hrs communicable disease
17 hrs MT related
1 hr diversity/cultural competency
Practice building and insurance courses do not qualify as CE
       NCBTMB approved courses only
Massachusetts
NO CE required currently.
Michigan
Renewal: Every three years (Oct. 31). 18 hours of CE required each renewal period after 2018 renewal
Minnesota
No State regulation
Mississippi
Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs
Max 5 hrs online
3 hrs MS state law/rules
3 hrs ethics
Current CPR
Missouri
Renewal: 12hrs/2yrs
MT relevant
Montana
Renewal: CE: 12/2 yrs
Nebraska
Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs
Max 10 hrs online
14 hrs must be hands-on
Nevada
Renewal: 12hr/1yr
        NCBTMB approved courses only
New Hampshire
Renewal: 12hrs/2yrs
       NCBTMB approved courses only
New Jersey
Renewal: 20 hrs/2 yrs
Business courses do not qualify as CE
Current CPR and AED
       NCBTMB approved courses only
New Mexico
Renewal: 16hrs/2yrs
4 hrs ethics
        NCBTMB approved courses only
New York
Renewal: Beginning Jan 1, 2012 – 36 hrs/ 3 yrs Up to 36 hours can be online, provider should be NY approved.
North Carolina
Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs
Max 12 hrs online
Max 3 hrs of business
Min 3 hrs ethics
       NCBTMB approved courses only
North Dakota
Renewal: 24 hrs/2yrs
Max 10 hrs online
Ohio
In process as of 10/27/2018
Oklahoma
Renewal: 16 hours/2 years
Renewal: 25hrs/2yrs
15 contact hours required
(can include online if interactive)
       NCBTMB approved courses only
Pennsylvania
Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs. Minimum 4 hrs ethics and minimum 16 contact hrs AND maintain CPR certification.
       NCBTMB approved courses only
Rhode Island
Renewal: no CEU req/1yr
South Carolina
Renewal: 12hrs/2yrs
       NCBTMB approved courses only
South Dakota
Renewal: 8 hrs/2 yrs
       NCBTMB approved courses only
Tennessee
Renewal: 24 hrs/2 yrs
2 hrs ethics
2 hrs TN law
       NCBTMB approved courses only
Texas
Renewal: 12hrs/2yrs
Utah
Renewal: no CEU req/2yrs
Vermont
No State regulation.
Virginia
Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs
Min of 12 hrs provided by NCBTMB provider
Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs
Max 12 hours online
Min 8 hrs hands-on
4 hrs ethics or WA law
Does not have to be NCBTMB approved or approved by any organization.
West Virginia
Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs
Wisconsin
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years
Wyoming
No state regulations.
See also: ABMP State Requirements for Massage therapy CE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *