Menu +

Search Posts

Cost of Massage license by state

(Information accessed 02/16/2019. Please provide updates on the renewal timeframes. Post your info in the comments and I will add it to the page.)

Alabama

Massage Therapist License and Renewal Fee $100.00

Application Request Fee $25.00
Initial Establishment License Fee $100.00

Establishment Renewal Fee $50.00

Initial Massage Therapy School Registration Fee $50.00

Massage Therapy School Renewal Fee $10.00
Massage Therapy Instructor License Fee $10.00

License Reactivation Fee $75.00 if license is expired for more than 1 year and all applicable renewal fees

Late License Fee $25.00 if received after the expiration date.

License Verification Fee $15.00
Duplicate License Fee $10.00

Alaska

$200 application fee Used directly to process your applications. Applications and supporting documents will not be reviewed without it. Is non-refundable once an initial status update has been sent.

$290 licensing fee:Used directly to issue your license. A license cannot be issued until it is received. In most cases, the licensing fee can be requested to be refunded as long as a license has not been issued.

$60 fingerprint processing fee:Used directly for the processing of your fingerprint card to generate background check reports. Is non-refundable once your fingerprints have been mailed to the Department of Public Safety.

Arizona –

1. To apply for an original license, two hundred fifty dollars.

2. To renew a license, two hundred fifty dollars. (Every 2 years)

3. To reinstate a lapsed license, two hundred fifty dollars.

4. To renew a license after the expiration date of the license, a delinquency fee of one hundred twenty-five dollars.

Arkansas

17-86-312. Fees(a) All registration fees and other fees due the Department of Health shall be paid in accordance with the provisions of this chapter and all other laws and regulations of this state.

(b)(1) The initial inspection fee for a massage therapy school shall not exceed one hundred dollars ($100).

(2) The annual renewal and inspection fee for a massage therapy school shall not exceed one hundred dollars ($100).

(3) A licensee whose massage therapy school license renewal is postmarked after April 30 of each year shall pay a late fee not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500).

California

$200 licensing fee: renewal every 2 years

Colorado
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/Massage_Therapy

Connecticut

Expire biennially

Initial Application Fee: $375.00
Renewal Application Fee:$255.00
Reinstatement Fee:$375.00

Delaware

Certified Massage Technician – $149

Licensed Massage Therapist – $149

Upgrade from Active Certified Massage Technician to Licensed Massage Therapist – $55

Temporary Massage Technician – $55

Florida

Application Fee – $50.00 (non-refundable)

Licensure Fee – $100.00

Unlicensed Activity Fee – $5.00

TOTAL FEE – $155.00

Georgia

MASSAGE THERAPIST (Expiration Date: October 31stof every EVEN numbered year)125.00

PROVISIONAL PERMIT 125.00(ONLY available to Non Residents of Georgia; Must have a current, unencumbered license in the state of residency) –DO NOT SUBMIT THIS APPLICATION IF YOU LIVE IN GEORGIA

RENEWAL APPLICATION FEE MASSAGE THERAPIST( Fee received on or before October 31stof every EVEN numbered year)REACTIVATION OF A LICENSE IN INACTIVE STATUS FOR LESS THAN FIVE (5) YEARS[Licenses in Inactive Status for more than five(5) year smust file a Reinstatement Application] 75.00

Hawaii


All licenses, regardless of issuance date, expire on June 30 of each even numbered year.
Lic . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 298 . . . . . . $32

CRF . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 299 . . . . . . $50/$100

1/2 Renewal . . . . . . . 290 . . . . . . $32

Service Charge . . . . . BCF . . . . . . $25

Idaho

MASSAGE THERAPIST
   LIC/RENEWAL – CURRENT YEAR 65.00
   REINSTATEMENT PENALTY – CURR YEAR 35.00
   DUPLICATE LICENSE FEE 10.00
   CERTIFICATION FEE 10.00
   DUPLICATE WALL CERTIFICATE 10.00
MASSAGE THERAPIST APPLICANT
   APPLICATION FEE 50.00
   PROVISIONAL 25.00
   ORIGINAL LICENSE FEE 65.00
   ENDORSEMENT FEE 75.00
   TEMP PERMIT FEE 25.00
MASSAGE THERAPIST GRANDFATHER
   LIC/RENEWAL – CURRENT YEAR 65.00
   REINSTATEMENT PENALTY – CURR YEAR 35.00
   DUPLICATE LICENSE FEE 10.00
   CERTIFICATION FEE 10.00
   DUPLICATE WALL CERTIFICATE 10.00

Illinois

Section 1284.50  Fees

The following fees shall be paid to the Division and are not refundable:

a)         Application Fees

The fee for application for a license as a massage therapist is $175.

b)         Renewal Fees

The fee for the renewal of a license shall be calculated at the rate of $87.50 per year.

c)         Sponsor Fees

1)         The fee for licensure as a continuing education sponsor shall be $500.

2)         The fee for renewal as a continuing education sponsor shall be $250 every two years.

Indiana

Application for Certification:

$100.00

Certification Renewal:

$150.00

Expired License Renewal:

 $200.00

Verification of Certification:

 $10.00

Iowa

645—5.8(147)Massage therapy license fees.

All fees are nonrefundable.

5.8(1)License fee for license to practice massage therapy is $120.

5.8(2)Biennial license renewal fee for each biennium is$ 60.

5.8(3)Temporary license fee for up to one year is $120.

5.8(4)Late fee for failure to renew before expiration is $60.

5.8(5)Reactivation fee is$120.

5.8(6)Duplicate or reissued license certificate or walletcard fee is $20.

5.8(7)Verification of license fee is $20.

5.8(8)Returned check fee is $25.5.8

(9)Disciplinary hearing fee is a maximum of $75.

5.8(10)Initial application fee for approval of massage therapy education curriculum is $120

Kentucky

Section 2. Fees.(1) The fee for an initial massage therapist license shall be $125.

(2)(a) The biennial renewal fee for a massage therapist license renewed on or before the renewal date shall be $100.

(b) If the license is renewed after the renewal date and up to sixty (60) days after expiration of the license, the fee for late renewal shall be $150.

(c) If the license is renewed sixty-one (61) to ninety (90) days after the expiration of the license, the late renewal fee shall be $200

Louisiana

$125 per year

Maine (website to unorganized – https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/massage/

Maryland

A. Application fee . . . $150;.

B. License fee . . . $200;.

C. State examination fee . . . $275;.

D. Reexamination fee . . . $300;.

E. Biennial renewal fee . . . $250;.

F. Late renewal fee (within 30 days of license or registration expiration, in addition to renewal fee) . . . $200;

G. Reinstatement fee (after 31 days of expiration of license or registration

Massachusetts

MT MTMassage Therapist$150.0028th Day of Birth MonthAnnual
(1 year)
MT MFSolo Massage Establishment$50.00Issue Date Anniversary Annual
(1 year)
MT MMMultiple Massage Establishment$150.00Issue Date Anniversary Annual
(1 year)

Michigan


Washington State

Title of FeeFee
Original application 
 Application and initial license125.00
 UW online access fee (HEAL-WA)16.00
Active license renewal 
 Renewal90.00
 Late renewal penalty50.00
 Expired license reissuance50.00
 UW online access fee (HEAL-WA)16.00
Inactive license renewal 
 Inactive license renewal50.00
 Expired inactive license reissuance50.00
 UW online access fee (HEAL-WA)16.00
Verification of license10.00
Duplicate license10.00
Intraoral massage endorsement25.00

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *